Skip to main content
Skip to secondary navigation
Australian Government - Office of the Australian Information Commissioner - Home

Appendix Six — Committee members

Information Advisory Committee

The Information Advisory Committee (IAC) was established by the Australian Information Commissioner Act 2010 (s 27). Members (other than the Chair) were appointed by the Minister responsible for that Act.

The IAC assists and advises the Australian Information Commissioner (Information Commissioner) in matters relating to the performance of Information Commissioner functions. The IAC advises the Information Commissioner; it does not advise the Australian Government directly. The minutes of IAC meetings are published on the Office of the Australian Information Commissioner (OAIC) website.

The IAC members' terms have now expired.

Privacy Advisory Committee

The Privacy Advisory Committee (PAC) is established by the Privacy Act 1988 (s 82). Members (other than the Chair and Privacy Commissioner) are appointed by the Governor-General.

The PAC provides strategic advice on privacy to the Information Commissioner. The minutes of PAC meetings are published on the OAIC website.

As at 30 June 2015, the members were:

  • Professor John McMillan AO, Information Commissioner (Committee Chair)
  • Mr Timothy Pilgrim PSM, Privacy Commissioner
  • Professor Michael Kidd AM, Faculty of Health Sciences, Flinders University
  • Ms Barbara Robertson, Chief Privacy Officer and Head of Governance, National Australia Bank.