Skip to main content
Skip to secondary navigation
Australian Government - Office of the Australian Information Commissioner - Home

Glossary — v 1.1

Archived Document — This document is no longer in use. Read the current FOI guidelines.

pdfPrintable version264.69 KB

Version 1.1, October 2011

AAO Administrative Arrangements Order
AAT Administrative Appeals Tribunal
AAT Act Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975
AGIFT Australian Government Interactive Functions Thesaurus
AGIMO Australian Government Information Management Office
AGLS AGLS Metadata Standard
AIC Australian Information Commissioner Act 2010
ALRC Australian Law Reform Commission
APS Australian Public Service
Archives Act Archives Act 1983
ARC Administrative Review Council
ASIS Australian Secret Intelligence Service
ASIO Australian Security Intelligence Organisation
Charges Regulations Freedom of Information (Charges) Regulations 1982
Commissioner Information Commissioner
CSIRO Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation
DIGO Defence Imagery and Geospatial Organisation
DIO Defence Intelligence Organisation
DSD Defence Signals Directorate
FOI freedom of information
FOI Act Freedom of Information Act 1982
GST Goods and Services Tax
IC review Information Commissioner review
IGIS Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security
IPP Information Privacy Principle
IPS Information Publication Scheme
LPP legal professional privilege
National Archives National Archives of Australia
OAIC Office of the Australian Information Commissioner
Ombudsman Act Ombudsman Act 1976
ONA Office of National Assessments
Privacy Act Privacy Act 1988
Privileges Act Parliamentary Privileges Act 1987
reg regulation
RSS Really Simple Syndication
s section
ss sections
UK United Kingdom
WCAG 2.0 Web Content Accessibility Guidelines Version 2.0