Skip to main content
Skip to secondary navigation
Australian Government - Office of the Australian Information Commissioner - Home

Glossary — v1.2

Archived Document — This document is no longer in use. Read the current FOI guidelines.

Version 1.2, March 2014

AAO Administrative Arrangements Order
AAT Administrative Appeals Tribunal
AAT Act Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975
Acts Interpretation Act Acts Interpretation Act 1901
AGIFT Australian Government Interactive Functions Thesaurus
AGIMO Australian Government Information Management Office
AIC Australian Information Commissioner Act 2010
AICmr Australian Information Commissioner
ALRC Australian Law Reform Commission
APS Australian Public Service
APP Australian Privacy Principle
Archives Act Archives Act 1983
ARC Administrative Review Council
ASIO Australian Security Intelligence Organisation
Charges Regulations Freedom of Information (Charges) Regulations 1982
Commissioner Information Commissioner
Commonwealth Electoral Act Commonwealth Electoral Act 1901
CSIRO Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation
DPMC Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
FOI freedom of information
FOI Act Freedom of Information Act 1982
GST Goods and Services Tax
Guidelines Guidelines issued by the Information Commissioner under s 93A of the Freedom of Information Act 1982
IC review Information Commissioner review
IGIS Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security
IPS Information Publication Scheme
LPP legal professional privilege
National Archives National Archives of Australia
NBN Co Ltd NBN Co Limited
OAIC Office of the Australian Information Commissioner
Ombudsman Act Ombudsman Act 1976
ONA Office of National Assessments
PBO Parliamentary Budget Office
Privacy Act Privacy Act 1988
Privileges Act Parliamentary Privileges Act 1987
PS Act Parliamentary Service Act 1999
Public Service Act Public Service Act 1999
reg regulation
RSS Really Simple Syndication
s section
ss sections
UK United Kingdom
WCAG 2.0 Web Content Accessibility Guidelines Version 2.0