The Freedom of Information Act 1982 (FOI Act) applies only to Australian Government ministers and most agencies. Other Australian States and Territories, along with many other countries, have equivalent legislation. Some jurisdictions use the term freedom of information (FOI), while others have ‘access to information’ or ‘right to information’ legislation.

State and territory FOI

Each Australian state and territory has legislation equivalent to the FOI Act. Useful links for each state and territory are included below.

International FOI

Many other countries have legislation equivalent to the FOI Act. Examples include: