The OAIC works with domestic regulators to share knowledge and exchange information.

Privacy Authorities Australia

Privacy Authorities Australia (PAA) is a group of Australian privacy authorities who meet regularly to promote best practice and consistency of privacy policies and laws. We join privacy representatives from all states and territories as a member of PAA.

Cyber Security Regulator Network

The Cyber Security Regulator Network (CSRN) is a forum for Australian regulators to work together to understand, respond to and share information about cyber security risks and incidents. The CSRN was formed in August 2022 and its members are: the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA), the Office of the Australian Information Commissioner (OAIC), the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC), the Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA), and the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC). The Cyber and Infrastructure Security Centre (CISC), Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) and The Treasury are standing attendees. The CSRN is not a decision-making body and has no legal functions or powers separate from those of its individual members. The CSRN facilitates collaboration among regulators to reduce duplication or gaps in regulatory responses and improve the effectiveness and efficiency of regulatory activity.

Digital Platform Regulators Forum

The Digital Platform Regulators Forum (DP-REG) is an initiative of Australian independent regulators to share information about and collaborate on cross-cutting issues and activities relating to the regulation of digital platforms. This includes consideration of how competition, consumer protection, privacy, online safety and data issues intersect.

DP-REG was formed in 2022 and its members are the OAIC, Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA), Australian Competition and Consumer Commission and Office of the eSafety Commissioner.

See the DP-REG Terms of Reference on the ACMA’s website.